Skip to content

St Jean De Maurienne Agreement

Under his terms, France would be given the Adana region, while Italy would receive the rest of southwestern Anatolia, including Izmir (Smyrna). The agreement was approved (from August 18 to September 26, 1917) by the three powers, subject to the agreement of Russia, which was not represented in Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne due to the collapse of the tsarist regime. “It goes without saying that if, at any time, when peace is declared, the total or partial possession of the territory provided for in the Agreement between France, Great Britain, Italy and Russia on the Cession of Parts of the Ottoman Empire cannot be fully conceded to one or more of these Powers, then the interests of the Powers concerned shall again be duly taken into consideration. The Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne Agreement was an agreement between France, Italy and Great Britain, which started from a conference in a railway wagon at Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne on April 19, 1917 and was signed by the Allies between August 18 and September 26, 1917. [1] The war is not yet won, but the Allies zealously agreed to a post-war partition of the Ottoman Empire. Constantinople and the Strait were promised to Russia, while the Sykes-Picot agreement dismembered the Middle East between Britain and France. The British and French governments added to the proposed Italian sphere of influence a number of conditions that had not been discussed between prime ministers at the April 19 conference. Italian Foreign Minister Sonnino protested that the Sykes Picot agreement did not decide on such conditions. To clearly understand the purpose of this conference, it should be recalled that the so-called London Agreement of 26 April 1915 between Italy, France, Great Britain and Russia promised Italy a fair share of Turkey`s division in Asia. Italy was to obtain territory in the vicinity of Adalia, where it had already acquired rights and interests through an Anglo-Italian contract. At the same time, Russian claims to Constantinople had already been discussed between France and Britain, and discussions between the two governments had resulted in the Sykes-Picot Agreement of May 9, 1916.46 The Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne Agreement was an agreement between France, Italy and the United Kingdom signed at Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne on April 26. 1917 and from August 18 to September 26, 1917.

. . . .